Skip to Content

Weber Named to Flood Recovery Advisory Board

Posted on April 23rd, 2019

Floodwaters stretch to the horizon along the Missouri River, seen here from the NEbraska side.On Monday, April 22, Iowa Governor Kim Reynolds announced the members for the Flood Recovery Advisory Board, which she created by Executive Order to help coordinate a comprehensive flood recovery and rebuilding effort. The board includes former IIHR Director Larry Weber, an IIHR research engineer and professor of civil and environmental engineering at the University of Iowa. Weber is also co-founder of the Iowa Flood Center.

Formal headshot of Larry Weber“I’m honored to be a part of this group that is dedicated to helping Iowans recover from recent floods and prepare for flooding events in the future,” Weber said. “I believe that by working together, Iowans can deal with this challenge in a proactive and positive manner.”

“Many brave and resilient Iowans and communities are just beginning the recovery process as a result of the historic flooding.  They are trusting us to deliver efficient and effective partnerships across federal, state, and local governments,” Reynolds said. “The seasoned individuals appointed to the Advisory Board understand the crucial nature of their responsibilities and my expectations for success. I’m confident Iowa will rebound even stronger as a result of our combined efforts.”

The Flood Recovery Advisory Board members include:

  • Governor Kim Reynolds
  • Secretary of Agriculture Mike Naig
  • Representative Dave Sieck
  • Joyce Flinn, Director of Homeland Security and Emergency Management
  • Beth Townsend, Director of Iowa Workforce Development
  • Larry Winum, President and CEO of Glenwood State Bank
  • Leo Ettleman, Farmer
  • Rick Allely, Director of Mills County Economic Development Foundation
  • Lt. Colonel Chuck Connors, Iowa National Guard
  • Gerd Clabaugh, Director of Iowa Department of Public Health
  • Dr. John Lawrence, VP of ISU Extension and Outreach
  • Dr. Larry Weber, co-founder, Iowa Flood Center, University of Iowa
  • Mark Ford, People, Parts and Service Director, AgriVision Equipment Group
  • Scott Swenson, Regional Director of Iowa Small Business Development Center
  • Mary Day, retired FEMA Director
  • Ex-Officio Members include:
  • Lt. Governor Adam Gregg
  • Senator Chuck Grassley
  • Senator Joni Ernst
  • Congresswoman Cindy Axne

The first meeting of the Flood Recovery Advisory Board is on Wednesday, April 24, 2019, at 11 am in the Ray Conference Room at the Iowa State Capitol.

In addition to the Flood Recovery Advisory Board, the Executive Order created six working groups covering Finance, Economic Development, Agriculture, Workforce and Housing, Flood Management and Infrastructure, and Public Health. Members of these working groups will be named in the coming weeks.

Site by Mark Root-Wiley of MRW Web Design